Cairo Governorate

Cairo Governorate

Cairo governorate is located on the western bank of the Nile River in Egypt. It extends for 25 km along the Nile River. The Al-Qalyubiah governorate borders Cairo in the north, the Giza governorate in the south, the Suez governorate in the east and the Nile in the west.

History of Cairo Governorate

Cairo is one of the 27 governorates of Egypt and is the nowadays capital of Egypt. This governorate enjoys a deep-rooted history and heritage as all the governorates located in the Nile Valley. Equally, its history extends as long back as the history of civilization in Egypt.

The ancient Egyptian constructed a city called Memphis. Nowadays; this suburb we recognise as Mit Rahina, Giza Governorate. At that time, Memphis represented the capital of Egypt.

Not significantly far from Memphis, the ancient Egyptian established another city on the eastern bank of the River Nile – Heliopolis. The ancient Egyptian called it “Iunu.”  During this time, it was the capital of the 13th Nome of Lower Egypt and a major religious centre. Historically, this Heliopolite Nome existed in the area dedicated to the present Cairo governorate. Heliopolis rapidly expanded under the Old and Middle Kingdoms. The Ancient Egyptians built it in the area where the nowadays Ayn Shams lies, a northeastern suburb of Cairo.

In Heliopolite Nome, the Romans established a fortress town along the eastern bank of the Nile. This fortress, Babylon, was the nucleus of the Roman and then the Byzantine city. Presently, it defines the oldest structure in Cairo. Many of Cairo’s oldest Coptic churches, including the Hanging Church, exist along that fortress walls. Presently this section of the city shapes the Coptic Cairo.

After Arab Invasion

After the Muslim conquest of Egypt in 641, Amr ibn Al-As built afterwards, Al-Fustat which became the capital of Egypt. In present days, it appears as the southern part of the Cairo governorate.

Following the overthrow of the Muslim Omayyad caliphate by the Abbasid in 750, the new rulers developed their own settlement to the northeast of Fustat which became their capital. They called this capital al-Askar “soldiers” because as they basically laid out like an armed camp.

A rebellion in 869 by Ahmad ibn Tulun led to the abandonment of Al Askar and the building of another settlement. Later, this new settlement,

Later, in 905 AC. the Abbasid re-asserted control of the country and their governor returned to Fustat, razing al-Qatta’i to the ground.

In 969 by The Fatimid dynasty found another capital to include all the ancient national capitals in its walls. Its remains are still visible in parts of Old Cairo.

Since the 1860s, Cairo expanded west as far as Midan Opera.

Cairo Activities

Accordingly, here’s a comprehensive list of the activities and things to do in Cairo, Egypt. For your convenience, we’ve grouped these entries into the following five basic categories:

  • History Related/Sightseeing in Cairo.
  • Also, Fun and Entertainments in Cairo.

Cairo lies at 456 km from Luxor and 7 km from Giza. For sure, this unique location, eventually, increases the possibility to do several history-related activities and sightseeing tours. Also, it enables tourists to visit the monuments and attractions in the cities of Beni Suef, El-Minya, El-Minya, Alexandria … etc.

The following presents a list of the activities tourists can choose from. This list provides both the destination and the means of transportation to get to the place:

Administrative Divisions of Cairo Governorate

The Egyptian authorities divided the Cairo governorate into the following administrative sections:

  1. 15 May City.
  2. Abdeen.
  3. El Darb El Ahmar.
  4. Also, Ain Shams.
  5. Amreya.
  6. Azbakeya.
  7. El Basatin.
  8. Additionally, El Gamaliya.
  9. Tura.
  10. El Khalifa.
  11. Maadi.
  12. El Marg.
  13. El Masara.
  14. Shubra.
  15. Besides, El Matareya.
  16. El Mokattam.
  17. Rod El Farag.
  18. El Muski.
  19. New Cairo.
  20. El Weili.
  21. El Nozha.
  22. Zamalek.
  23. El Sharabiya.
  24. El Shorouk.
  25. Bulaq.
  26. And, El Sahil.
  27. El Salam.
  28. Old Cairo.
  29. El Sayeda Zeinab.
  30. El Tebbin.
  31. Helwan.
  32. El Zaher.
  33. El Zawya El Hamra.
  34. Zeitoun.
  35. Bab El Sharia.
  36. Dar El Salam.
  37. Hada’iq El Qobbah.
  38. Nasr City.
  39. Heliopolis.
  40. Manshiyat Naser.
  41. Also, Qasr El Nil.

1 thought on “Cairo Governorate

  1. Great information on the modern capital city of Cairo. This information helps in making all the necessary checks before one makes any decision to visit any new country. Every aspect of this country is steeped in history and this is what makes Egypt a Traveller’s Paradise! Do read this extensively. Even if you are not visiting physically, you will be able to learn a lot from this article here.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.