Egyptian Towns

Egyptian Towns

When we take a look at the map of Egypt, we can find the majority of the Egyptian towns, governorates and cities are located along the Nile River. Egypt has more than 200 cities with a population of over 15,000 p.

Administrative Divisions in Egypt

Administratively, Egypt is split into 27 governorates. Correspondingly, each province is administered by a governor, who is appointed by the President of Egypt.

  1. Aswan.
  2. Asyut.
  3. Al-Bahr Al-Ahmar (Red Sea).
  4. Al-Buhayrah.
  5. Port Said.
  6. Cairo.
  7. Dakahlia.
  8. Damietta.
  9. Fayyum.
  10. Al-Gharbiyyah.
  11. Alexandria.
  12. Ismailia.
  13. South Sinai.
  14. North Sinai.
  15. Giza.
  16. Kafr El-Shaykh.
  17. Matruh.
  18. Al-Minufiyyah.
  19. Al-Minya.
  20. Al-Qalyubiyyah.
  21. Qena.
  22. Al-Sharqiyyah.
  23. Sohag.
  24. Suez.
  25. Luxor.
  26. Also, Al-Wadi Al-Jadid.

Aswan Governorate

Aswan Governorate is one of the Egyptian towns and governorates. This governorate is located in the far south of the country in Upper Egypt, and its capital is Aswan. This Governorate borders Luxor to the north, Al-Bahr Al-Ahmar (Red Sea) Governorate to the east, New Valley Governorate to the west, and Sudan’s Northern state to the south.

Al Bahr Al Ahmar Governorate

Al Bahr Al Ahmar Governorate is the biggest governorate in Egypt. It spreads out along the coast of the Red Sea and comprises much of the Eastern Desert. Its name means “Red Sea.” This is why you may find it under the name “Red Sea Governorate, or Red Sea City.” It extends from approximately 29° N latitude southward to the frontier of Sudan. On the west, a plain desert bounds it. Actually, the nature of land in this governorate appears to a plain desert. It encompasses about one-fifth of the total area of Egypt.

The northern boundary of Al-Bahr al-Ahmar is near the southern extreme of Jalalah al-Bahriyyah Uplands. These uplands rise to 1,275 meters in the southern Suez governorate. The next group towards the south is the Al-Jalalah al-Qibliyyah Uplands that rise to a peak of 1,475 meters. Just to the west-northwest of this peak lies the Christian monastery of St. Anthony. Also, across the crest of the range to the southeast is the monastery of St. Paul. Please, note that these two famous Christian monasteries exist in the city of Zaafarana.

Cairo Governorate

Cairo governorate stretches along the west bank of the Nile River in Egypt. It extends for 25 km along the Nile River. Al-Qalyubiah governorate borders this governorate in the north. While the Giza governorate borders it in the south and the Suez governorate in the east. The Nile River lies to the west of Cairo.

Faiyum Governorate

Faiyum is one of the 27th governorates Egypt has. It is located 100 kilometres to the southwest of Cairo, in the middle of Egypt. Al Faiyum governorate is one of Egypt’s oldest cities due to its strategic location. Its name has different spellings in English e.g. Fayum, Faiyum or Al Faiyūm. The Faiyum governorate is one of Egypt’s seven oases. For this fact, enjoys year-round moderate weather, Also, it homes several attractions from different eras from Pharaonic, Greco-Roman, Coptic and Islamic. The nature of this city is marvellous, with dunes, palm trees, lakes and valleys, wild animals and bird species. Without a doubt, it’s a land of unspoiled nature and deep history! It is a place worth discovering!

South Sinai Governorate

South Sinai Governorate exist in the southern half of the Sinai Peninsula, Egypt. This governorate lies on the Red Sea except for its northern part. Notably, it has a long coast on the Red Sea – the Gulf of Aqaba in the east and the Gulf of Suez in the west. While it neighbours North Sinai governorate to the north. Also, It takes the shape of a triangle when looking at it on the map.

Qena Governorate

Qena Governorate extends for 168 km along the Nile River. It lies 577 km to the south of Cairo. When we have a look at the map of Egypt, we will find that the Sohag governorate borders Qena in the north. While the Luxor governorate borders it in the south. Also, it neighbours Al-Bahr Al-Ahmar (Red Sea) governorate in the east and the New Valley governorate in the west.

Sohag Governorate

Sohag Governorate extends for 125 km along the Nile River and is 467 km away from Cairo. When we look at the map of Egypt, we can find that the Assiut governorate borders it in the north. At the same time, the Qena governorate neighbours it in the south. Also, Sohag has borders with Al-Bahr Al-Ahmar (Red Sea) governorate in the east and the New Valley governorate in the west.

Luxor Governorate

Luxor Governorate extends for 110 km along the Nile River and is 635 km away from Cairo. Geographically, Luxor is lining the Qena governorate in the north and the Aswan governorate in the south. Also, it neighbours Al-Bahr Al-Ahmar (Red Sea) governorate in the east and the New Valley governorate in the west.

1 thought on “Egyptian Towns

  1. This page will give you an idea about the country of Egypt and how it is being governed. You will get a fair idea as to how many cities are there, what is the population and other such important vital information about the country that you are planning to visit. I believe that one should have at least a brief idea about the same. Do check this page out.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.