About the Temple of Kom Ombo
The Temple of Kom Ombo is a double temple in the town of Kom Ombo in Aswan Governorate, Upper Egypt. The building is unique because its design was divided into two adjoined sections. In other words, there were courts, halls, sanctuaries and rooms duplicated for two sets of gods.
The history of the Temple of Kom Ombo
A temple was already built in the New Kingdom to honor the gods Horus and Sobek. The reused blocks suggest an earlier temple from the Middle Kingdom period. However, little remains of the New Kingdom temple.
The existing temple was constructed during the Ptolemaic dynasty, 180–47 BC. Ptolemy VI Philometor (180–145 BC) began the building of this temple at the beginning of his reign. Other Ptolemies contributed to its building, most notably Ptolemy XIII Theos Philopator (51–47 BC), who built the inner and outer hypostyles. Some additions to it were later made during the Roman period.
After the announcement of Christianity announced as an official religion of the country during the roman era, some of the reliefs inside were defaced by Copts. The temple was, then, used as a church.
With the end of the Roman Period, the temple was neglected. Recently, all the temples buildings in the southern part of the plateau were cleared of debris and restored by Jacques de Morgan in 1893.
In September 2018, the Egyptian antiquities ministry announced that a sandstone sphinx statue had been discovered at the temple. The statue measures approximately 28 cm in width and 38 cm in height, likely dates to the Ptolemaic Dynasty.