Aswan Governorate in Egypt

Aswan Governorate

Aswan Governorate is one of the governorates of Egypt. This governorate is located in the far south of the country in Upper Egypt, its capital is Aswan. This Governorate borders Luxor to the north, Al-Bahr Al-Ahmar (Red Sea) Governorate to the east, New Valley Governorate to the west, and Sudan’s Northern state to the south.

History of Aswan

Aswan _ it is one of the 27 governorates of Upper Egypt. This governorate has a deep-rooted history and heritage as all the governorates located in the Nile Valley. The history of this governorate extends as long back as the history of civilization in Egypt. We can get a lot about the history of this governorate from the remaining Ancient Egyptian monuments in Aswan City and Abu Simbel. The history of the governorate appears in the many Greco-roman monuments it has in Edfu, kom Ombo, Philae, and the middle area in this governorate.

The capital of this governorate is the city of Aswan. It is the ancient city of Swenett, which was the frontier town of Ancient Egypt facing the south.

The ancient Egyptian used the place to serve for different purposes. Among these purposes is the use of its quarries. These quarries were famous for their stone, and especially for the granitic rock called Syenite. They furnished the colossal statues, obelisks, and monolithic shrines that are found throughout Egypt, including the pyramids; and the traces of the quarry-men who worked in these 3,000 years ago are still visible in the native rock. They lie on either bank of the Nile, and a road, 6.5 km in length, was cut beside them from Syene to Philae.

The ancient Egyptian used the place as a garrison as well. This military station was operating until recently.

Administrative divisions of the governorate

The governorate has the following administrative:

  • Abu Simbel
  • Aswan
  • Daraw
  • Edfu
  • Kom Ombo
  • New Aswan
  • New Tushka
  • Nasser City