Utopia Island found in the resort of Safagi

Sea Islands

Egypt is bordered by the Red Sea on the east, and the Mediterranean Sea on the north. The Red Sea coast stretches 800 km from Suez to the Sudanese border. While the Mediterranean Sea coast extends for about 1,050 km from the eastern side of the Sinai Peninsula at the Egypt-Gaza border to the western village of Sallum at Egypt’s border with Libya. Certainly, these long coastal areas have a number of sea islands in. They are naturally-formed ones expect for the artificial one in Gulf of Aqaba.

Coast Islands in Egypt

Here, we list these islands according to their location as follows:

  • Red Sea islands
  • Also, Mediterranean Sea islands

Islands of the Red Sea

  • Giftun Islands
  • Abu Monkar
  • Hamata Islands
  • El Ikhwa Islands
  • Also, Green Island
  • Mukkawar Island
  • Pharaoh’s Island
  • Sanafir Island
  • Shadwan Island
  • Tiran Island
  • Additionally, Zabargad Island

Giftun Islands

Giftun Islands are located in the Red Sea along the shoreline of Hurghada city , Al-Barhr Al-Ahmar governorate – Egypt. These islands are located approximately 11 kilometres east of the coast of Hurghada. Now, Giftun Island is the most famous one of the Red Sea. And, it is the most important in terms of tourism and environmental activities. It is the only island authorized to welcome marine activities on its territories, among the 39 ones Egypt has. It is noteworthy that those islands comprise part of the marine reserve in the Red Sea with spectacular coral reefs and drop-offs. The Egyptian government declared these Giftun Islands a protected area since 1995.

Islands of the Mediterranean Sea

  • Nelson’s Island