The monastery in Nagada city

Qena Governorate

Qena Governorate extends for 168 km along the Nile River and is 577 km away from Cairo. It is bordered by Sohag governorate in the north, by Luxor governorate in south, by Al-Bahr Al-Ahmar (Red Sea) governorate in east and by the New Valley governorate in west.

History of Qena governorate

Qena is one of the 27 governorates of Egypt. This governorate has a deep-rooted history and heritage as all the governorates located in the Nile Valley. The history of this governorate extends as long back as the history of civilization in Egypt. We can get a lot about the history of this governorate from the remaining Ancient Egyptian monuments in Naqada, and Dendera.

 Later, Muhammad Ali who started ruling Egypt in 1805 divided the country into directorates. One of these directorates was called Girga, or Upper Egypt. Accordingly, this directorate had a number of cities including Mishta, in the north, and Esna, in the south. By then, there was a city called Qena in this directorate.

With the new demonstrative division to governorates in 1960, Qena became a governorate extending from the south of Sohag governorate to Esna city in the south. Later, In 2009, Luxor split from it to form a new governorate.

Administrative Divisions

Qena governorate consists of 11 administrative divisions or 11 central cities:

  • Abu Tesht       
  • El Waqf
  • Dishna
  • Farshut
  • New Qena
  • Naga Hammadi
  • Naqada
  • Quft (Gebtu or Coptos)
  • Qena
  • Also, Qus

The above central cities (Markazes) have rural local units, with subordinated villages.