Luxor Temple

Luxor Temple

The Luxor Temple was built by Amenhotep III (1390-52 BC) but completed by Tutankhamun (1336-27 BC) and Horemheb (1323-1295 BC). Finally, it was added to the temples built during Ramses II (1279-13 BC). Towards the rear, there is a granite shrine dedicated to Alexander the Great (332-305 BC). The Temple of Ramses II was the centre of the most important festival – the festival of Opet. This festival was to reconcile the human aspect of the ruler with the divine office.

Location of Luxor Temple

Luxor Temple is an Ancient Egyptian temple complex located on the east bank of the Nile River in the city Thebes, Luxor governorate.

History of the Temple

Till now, we can obviously notice that the Luxor temple is still serving as a place of worship. During the Christian era, early Christians converted the temple’s hypostyle hall into a Christian church. Visitors to this temple can see the remains of another Coptic church to the west of this temple. During this period, they closed the door leading to Alexander’s shrine and built the church in the second open court. Following the appearance of Islam as a religion in Egypt, the temple was buried beneath the streets and houses of Luxor for thousands of years. Later, a Sufi Shaykh Yusuf Abu al-Hajjaj built a mosque over the northeast part of it. This mosque was carefully preserved when the temple was uncovered. It is still serving until nowadays.

1 thought on “Luxor Temple

  1. People carry out worship till the present day in this temple and this is the unique quality of this temple. During the Christian period, its hall was converted into a church and that can be seen until now. After the advent of Islam, the temple was covered under the city of Luxor for many centuries. It has been excavated recently and now remains as one of the best preserved temples in Egypt. Must visit.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.