Sharm El-Sheikh City in Sinai Peninsula

Sharm El-Sheikh City


Sharm El-Sheikh extends for about 120 km along the Red Sea on the tip of Sinai Peninsula and is 504 km away from Cairo. It is bordered by El Tor city in the north-west, by Red sea in south, by Dahab city in north-east and Gulf of Aqaba to the east.

History of sharm El-Sheikh

Sharm El-Sheikh is one of the cities located in South Sinai governorate on the the Peninsula of Sinai. The place was almost deserted place for long periods of the Egyptian history. It witnessed a small community in its northern part _ Nabq. During the last 100 years, Sharm El-Sheikh became an important place for its strategic location. This importance of location led to its transformation from a fishing village into a major port and naval base to serve the Egyptian Navy.

As all the area located in the Sinai Peninsula, Sharm El-Sheikh was occupied by Israel during the Suez Crisis of 1956 and was delivered back to Egypt in 1957. For the crisis between Egypt and Israel, a United Nations peacekeeping force was stationed there until the 1967 Six-Day War. Once again, the city was recaptured by Israel after this war. There, Israel started some projects in the area which led to more commercial development of the area of Sinai. The Israelis built the town of Ofira, overlooking Sharm El Maya Bay and the Nesima area, and opened the first tourist-oriented establishments in the area 6km north at Naama Bay. Sharm El Sheikh remained under Israeli control until the Sinai Peninsula was restored again to Egypt in 1982 in accordance with the Egypt–Israel Peace Treaty of 1979.

With the restoration of Sinai in 1982, the Egyptian government launched an initiative to encourage the development of the city which is now an international tourist destination.

The Administrative division of Sharm El-Sheikh

Sharm El Sheikh City is divided into five homogeneous centers:

  •  Nabq
  • Ras Nusrani
  • Naama Bay
  • Umm Sid
  • Sharm El Maya
%d bloggers like this: